Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Aunt-Mora-and-Carol

On February 11, 2016 my aunt, Mora Beryl Maclean, died at Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.  Here is her obituary:

MACLEAN, Mora
June 13, 1931 – February 11, 2016
On Thursday, February 11, 2016:  Mora MacLean, who was born and raised in Ottawa (Westboro) and most recently lived at the Redwoods Retirement Residence, Ottawa. She had an undergraduate degrees from Queens (BA, English) and McGill Universities (Bachelor of Library Science, BLS), and she received a Master of Library Science (MLS) from the University of Toronto. She was retired from the National Library of Canada and worked most recently with the Government Printing Bureau. Mora was predeceased by her parents, Murdoch and Myrtle MacLean, and by her sister, Margaret. She is survived by her sister, Isabel Rozins, of Toronto. She will be missed by her long time friend, Anne Perdue, and by her nieces and nephews: Michael Coxon, Bruce Coxon, Carol Nicolas, Kathy Janzen, Beryl Cullum and Alison Demeter and their families. She was a lover of opera and classical music. She was an avid reader and traveler. Mora was known for her wit, strong opinions on many issues, and her ability to recite Gaelic toasts and sayings at opportune moments. Family will be receiving friends and family at St. Johns Anglican Church, South March, 325 Sandhill Dr., Kanata, on Friday, February 26 from 10:30 a.m. until 11 a.m. at which time a memorial service will be held, followed by a reception in the church hall. Tributes, condolences and donations may be made at http://www.tubmanfuneralhomes.com.

Aunt Mora cared about her nieces and nephews.  Mora, her sister, and her mother provided love and stability to us when our family was in upheaval. From the time we girls were little until just recently, Mora kept up a steady correspondence:  she wrote letters, sent books, called, and offered encouragement.
Because of the distances involved, we didn’t get to see our relatives as much as we wished.  However, we were able to come out east and visit occasionally, and I treasure those times. I have vivid, wonderful memories of the summer when I was in Grade 10, and Granny and the aunts paid for us to fly to Ontario to visit them.  We had such fun.  In 2000, Beryl, Kathy, and I visited her and once more enjoyed her company.  Alison and Beryl were able to come out and visit her as well on different occasions.
A couple of years ago, Kathy, and I flew to Ontario to visit the aunts once more.  I listened to Aunt Mora’s stories about her life, childhood, travels, and schooling, and then I went back to my room and wrote them down.  We dined together and enjoyed her sharp wit and humorous observations of people and life.  I admired her ability to quote in Gaelic and recite whole selections of Shakespeare and other poets.  She was strong, independent, and brave.  Even in her later years when her body was full of pain, she refused to give in to it.  Mora had a great sense of humor and playfulness.  She shared Beryl’s and my fondness for stuffed animals.  As we talked, I remember thinking, this is what my mother might have been like if she had been mentally well.  I enjoyed our visit so much.
And now she is gone.  Another person I hold dear has passed from this life into the next. Aunt Mora, I wish you an interesting and exciting journey.  I love you, and I will miss you greatly.

 

