Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today I was able to spend a lot of time writing. (Over 8.000 words so far for NaNoWriMo!)  I had so much fun!

This month as we celebrate Thanksgiving, we stop and think about what we are thankful for.  I have been blessed so much, and just one of the things I am grateful for is language.  I love looking up words and finding out where they came from, their root meanings, and the nuances and history they reveal.
Once when looking at my great-great grandmother’s name on a census, I noticed that it said she couldn’t read or write (English that is.  She might have been able to read and write Gaelic, but I don’t know for sure.)  It really struck me.  I can’t even imagine how empty my life would be if I couldn’t pick up a book and read.  I love stories, and my life has been uplifted, inspired, and enriched so many times through the writings of someone who took the time and effort to record their stories.
I am thankful for my computer which allows me to write so much faster than I would be able to on paper.  I am thankful to be able to record my stories and to be able to pass them on to my children and hopefully to others as well.

I am thankful for words, for the beautiful gift of language, for the meanings and history and richness of words from many languages.  I love words.

Language.  It’s a beautiful thing.

