Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today I attended the bridal shower for my friend’s daughter. Marilyn and I have been the best of friends for almost 30 years. Our babies played together, and our families spent many happy hours visiting each other. No matter how much time goes by or how many miles separate us, when Marilyn and I get together, it’s as if no time has passed. We start talking as if we’d never left each other’s side. We catch up on what our children are doing and what’s happening in our lives. We share each other’s sorrows and triumphs, and when it’s time to say goodbye, we part feeling uplifted and strengthened. Today was no exception. A group of women gathered to celebrate her daughter’s upcoming wedding. Marlena is a beautiful young woman, inside and out, and I was glad to be able to see her again and wish her the best. As we went around the room and introduced ourselves, told how we knew Marlena, and gave the bride-to-be advice, I was impressed by this group’s sincerity and the honest emotions expressed about their experiences. Each woman had faced tragedy in one form or another. In spite of the sorrow in their lives, each one was faithful, kind, and loving. Each one looked out at life with courage. Each one was an optimistic person. The advice they gave Marlena was beautiful. I felt honored to be in the company of such faithful, strong women. I left feeling uplifted. I was grateful once again to have such a good friend and to be able to share in this happy time with her.
Marlena Smithat Marlena's bridal shower
Marilyn and Carol

