Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think I’ve been having puppy postpartum blues.  I admit my expectations were completely unrealistic.  When I dreamed of having a dog, I imagined this cute little dog who would curl up at my feet and keep me company while I wrote.  Instead I got Jaws with ADHD.  We’ve definitely had a ‘rocky’ beginning.  The first day we got Rocky, he bit me on the arm, and the bite got infected.  After a week of my own doctoring, the result was redness, swelling, itching, and oozing.  I went to the doctor, and he decided I was allergic to the latex in the bandaids and the tape.  The antibiotics he prescribed didn’t help the wound much, but they did upset my digestive system.  (I think I’ve lost weight.  Is this the new weight loss secret?  Take antibiotics, eat tons of yogurt, and lose weight.  Hmmm.)  So, back to the doctor.  The Amoxicillin resulted in a horrible (and I mean absolutely hideous) rash that was painful and itched.  Who knew I was allergic to Amoxicillin? I never was before.  So after a week of torture (just call me Job), I went on still another set of antibiotics (oh, joy).  On the positive side, my arm is slowly getting better, and the rash is slowly fading.  Meanwhile, I have been under a lot of stress with family problems, getting up in the night with the pup, and spending remarkable amounts of time walking around outside saying, “Go potty.”  The neighbors must think I’m nuts.  I really understand why it’s a good idea to have your children when you’re young.
Well, it’s not all bad.  Rocky is really cute.  A lot of exercise outside does help him to be calmer when he’s inside.  (Also, added benefit — all this time out in nature has resulted in noticing that the robins are back (don’t they know it isn’t spring yet?), the trees are budding, the moon in all its phases is beautiful, and the sky has constantly changing magnificent colors.) The biting has decreased.  And he’s a very good car traveler.  Yesterday he went potty outside every time.  (Of course, today he peed on the carpet.  Sigh.  Okay, we still have some work to do.)  But it will get better.  He’s still really young.  Oh, who is that curled up under my chair and sleeping while I write this post?  Could it be Rocky?  Well.  Things are definitely getting better after all.

Rocky Feb 11

