Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I almost didn’t read Mile 21.  I don’t like books written in first person, present tense.  Sorry, but I just don’t.  They’re annoying.  I picked it up at the bookstore because it had a picture of a runner on the front cover, and one of my sisters runs marathons.  Then I read the blurb on the back and thought, “Why not?  I’m in the mood for one of those silly, shallow romances, the kind you waste time with (kind of like eating a tube-full of Pringles potato chips when you’re a little hungry but not really in need of actual nourishment).  I’ll give it a try.”  But, when I started reading Mile 21, I had to eat all my previous words.  This was a really good book.  The story grabbed me and twisted my heart and guts.  I cried.  I was right there, feeling what Abish was feeling as she went through the grieving process for her deceased young husband.  I loved the main character!
Abish is witty, brash, and hurting, and she is trying with all her might to shut everyone out.  Her family and bishop force her to get back into college again and try to get along with an apartment of girls who all seem to be perfect (well, except for the catty one).  Her one outlet is running.  She sets a goal to run the Ogden Marathon and begins training.  She never expects to find love again, but as she works through her grief, she gradually opens herself to friendship, caring, and yes, love.
I really enjoyed this book.  I’m going to look for other books by Sarah Dunster.  Well done!

Mile 21 cover

