Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last January I published my first novel, The Sixth Power.  A lot has happened in the past year.  I’ve learned a lot about publishing and marketing.  I’ve also learned a tremendous amount about the craft of writing.  Attending workshops, reading other people’s blogs and books (and applying their ideas) and writing both my blog and my next novel have all contributed to help me to be a better writer.  Last year one of the interview questions on a blog spotlight was, What would you change about your novel?  At the time, I didn’t think I’d change anything.  But recently I reread The Sixth Power.  I saw the mistakes I had made in the plot line.  I probably wouldn’t have included the first chapter, which is basically a prologue (although there is an important reason it’s there).  And I would have spend more time developing the characters.  I also have a tendency to include too many subplots because I enjoy a complicated story.  I probably would have simplified the plot a little.  All that said, I was still pleased with the book.  It was worth all the effort I put into it, and it’s worth reading.  My next novel will be much better as far as quality of writing goes, but each story is a living, breathing thing.  It was an amazing experience to create it, and to come to know and care about its characters.  I’m glad I wrote The Sixth Power, and I think others will enjoy it too.  Find it on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords.

The Sixth Power

