Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s definitely a winter wonderland out there.  It’s been snowing all day, with 5 to 10 inches expected where we live.  It’s also very cold.  Do I really want to see what is in my mailbox today?  Hmmm.  I am glad I don’t have to go anywhere!  Meanwhile, I am wrapping presents, getting cards ready to send, and drawing.  Celtic Christmas music is playing, and my tree lights are twinkling at me.  Of course, I can’t let a day pass without writing something too.  Sooner or later I’ll have to go outside and shovel, but in the meantime, a cup of hot chocolate sounds good.  If you’re looking for a fun winter movie for the whole family, try Frozen.  At first I thought this was going to be a version of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Snow Queen, but then the plot changed.  The trolls were cute and furry, the bad guy was not who I thought it was going to be, and the good guy was a secondary character.  But I liked the recklessly optimistic main character, Anna, who sang her way through all her difficulties and wouldn’t give up on her sister.  Olaf the animated snowman and the reindeer Sven provided comic relief.  Though the movie sometimes strained even my sense of believability (who sets out on a winter quest without provisions or a winter coat?) (yes, talking, dancing snowmen are okay), and it wasn’t your typical love story, I still enjoyed it.  It was visually beautiful, and the songs were fun.

Frozen poster

