Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday one of those rare events occurred that was so sweet that it ranks up there as one of the crowning moments in my life.  One of my daughters called and said that she has decided to major in Psychology with a second major in Social Work.  She talked about how in her work at a daycare, she sees the sad circumstances of some of the kids’ lives, and how for some of them, the daycare is the best part of their day.  She now realizes how good she had it growing up, that we gave her a happy, safe childhood.  Now she wants to give back and make a difference in children’s lives.  She said, “Thanks, Mom and Dad for a wonderful childhood.  I really see the difference out here in the world, and I appreciate everything you did for me.”  I cried.  Every once in a while, maybe once or twice in your life, you might get a letter or a phone call like this.  Yep, all those years of hard work, sleepless nights, worry, and dedication just paid off.  My baby girl is all grown up.

