Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For me, Memorial Day weekend signals the almost-end of the school year and the beginning of summer. We spent a sunny weekend with family, eating corn on the cob, watermelon, steak from the grill, and pie — among other things (I won’t mention the homemade Chocolate Chip Waffles if you won’t). We watched a lot of baseball, played multiple rounds of Clue (I thought I had my system down until I made the accusation and discovered I was totally wrong on two items!) and Scrabble, went swimming, dug up the rest of the garden, planted tomato and pepper seedlings, and visited the cemetery. All in all it was a great weekend.
Today we’re back to rain. This morning I helped with a field trip out at the Great Salt Lake Shorelands Preserve. If you’ve never been, it’s a wonderful place to visit… even in the rain. I looked out over the living, lush marshland, and a quiet peace filled me. Multitudes of birds winged overhead. Their lonely cries filled me with a longing to explore this verdant paradise. The pavilion (where the fourth grade classes met) looks like something out of a fantasy novel, with its roof that sweeps and turns like bird’s wings. Far off on the horizon of the marsh is a tower that might be the ruin of an old castle or house, barely hanging together, full of quiet secrets. The whole scene put me right into the middle of The Silver Chair (by C.S. Lewis) with Puddleglum, Eustace, and Jill as they traversed the marshes north of Narnia. This morning’s experience reminded me that life is never all bad or all good. Even in the midst of being wet and cold, there is great beauty to enjoy.

The Sixth Power Book Tour news: Read my Interview at The Dark Phantom thedarkphantom.wordpress.com
and a book spotlight at Beyond the Books beyondthebooks.wordpress.com

