Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Review of Fire Country by David Estes – FIVE STARS
I couldn’t put Fire Country down and ended up reading until very late. I loved Siena’s character. Her strong voice resonated with me. As the conflict was rising in the story, I kept thinking, “Siena, what are you waiting for? Get out of there!” But I understood her too. Her perception was that she was weak and scrawny, and she had no choice in her society. She kept thinking that her father really couldn’t be that bad, and she loved her mother so much. Her friend kept giving her hints about the Wild Ones, but not enough information to help her to have the courage to break away from all that she’d ever known. Yet over and over, love motivated her decisions and finally led to a satisfying conclusion. The dystopian society trying to survive in a hostile environment was very creative and interesting We learn what happens when unfair laws bind a people, leaders become corrupt, and mercy is absent. I’m looking forward to reading David Estes’s other books.
Available at Amazon.com
estes fire country cover

 

